Email claims that the recipient must supply account details within five days or his or her Yahoo account will be closed.
The email is not from Yahoo. The message is a phishing scam designed to trick recipients into sending their Yahoo account details to Internet criminals.
Date of Birth:
WARNING!!! E-MAIL OWNERS who refuses to upgrade his or her account within Five days after notification of this update will permanently be deleted from our data base and can also lead to malfunctioning of the client or user’s account and we will not be responsible for loosing our account.
Thanks for your understanding as it is geared towards serving you better.
Email Messaging Support Team
Warning Code: ID67565434.
Note: This message is for yahoo mail user only
© 2011 Microsoft Privacy
Yahoo Member Service
According to this email, the recipient’s Yahoo account will be deleted permanently unless he or she replies with account details within five days. The email asks for the account holder’s username and password and other personal information and claims to be from the Yahoo “Email Messaging Support Team”.
However, the message is not from Yahoo and the claim that the recipient’s account will be closed if he or she does not reply is untrue. In fact, the message is a phishing scam designed to steal account information from recipients. Those who follow the instructions in the email will actually be supplying their account details directly to scammers. Once they receive the requested details, the criminals responsible can then access the victim’s Yahoo account directly, including email and any personal information stored within the account.
These criminals often use such hijacked accounts to launch further scams and spam campaigns. One such ruse is designed to trick contacts of the victim into sending money to online criminals. Once they have gained access to the hijacked account, the scammers will then send emails to all of the people on the account’s contact list. These emails will falsely claim that the account holder is in a very difficult situation and desperately needs financial assistance. Usually, such emails claim that the account holder is stranded in another country without money or travel documents due to a robbery or lost baggage.
Yahoo would never request account details such as usernames and passwords via an unsolicited email. Moreover, Yahoo already has methods in place to deal with inactive accounts. It certainly would not send out emails threatening customers with account closures if they do not supply account information within one week. Any unsolicited email claiming to be from Yahoo that requests sensitive information such as usernames and passwords is quite likely to be a phishing scam.
Yahoo has warned customers about phishing scams in an article on its website. If you receive this email or a similar one, do not reply to the email or supply any of the information requested. Do not click on any links in such messages as they may lead to fake web pages that are designed to look like genuine Yahoo login pages. Login details and any other information supplied on these fake web pages can be collected by scammers and used for fraud and identity theft.
Although its intention is more sinister, this email is similar to a long running series of hoaxes that claim that the recipient’s Yahoo or Hotmail account will be closed down if the message is not forwarded to others within a specified time frame.
A very similar phishing scam from 2008:
Subject: WARNING!!! VERIFY YOUR YAHOOMAIL ACCOUNT NOW
Dear Account User,
You are advise to verify your account details below to enable us upgrade your account. E.G Your YahooMail ID, Password, Date Of Birth etc.
In failure of doing this, you will Automatically lose your YahooMail Account.
Thanks for using YahooMail
Dear Account User,
This message is from YahooMail message center to all YahooMail account owners and premium account owners. We are currently upgrading our data base and e-mail account center. We are deleting all unused YahooMail account to create more space for new accounts.
To prevent your account from closing, you will have to verify it below before One (1) week from now!
VERIFY YOUR YAHOOMAIL ACCOUNT NOW TO AVOID CLOSE!!!
Your Country or Territory:………..
Warning!!! Account owner that refuses to update his or her account before One (1) week of receiving this warning will lose his or her account permanently.
Importance NoticeAfter considerable thought and with an ache in my heart, I have decided that the time has come to close down the Hoax-Slayer website.
These days, the site does not generate enough revenue to cover expenses, and I do not have the financial resources to sustain it going forward.
Moreover, I now work long hours in a full-time and physically taxing job, so maintaining and managing the website and publishing new material has become difficult for me.
And finally, after 18 years of writing about scams and hoaxes, I feel that it is time for me to take my fingers off the keyboard and focus on other projects and pastimes.
When I first started Hoax-Slayer, I never dreamed that I would still be working on the project all these years later or that it would become such an important part of my life. It's been a fantastic and engaging experience and one that I will always treasure.
I hope that my work over the years has helped to make the Internet a little safer and thwarted the activities of at least a few scammers and malicious pranksters.
A Big Thank YouI would also like to thank all of those wonderful people who have supported the project by sharing information from the site, contributing examples of scams and hoaxes, offering suggestions, donating funds, or helping behind the scenes.
I would especially like to thank David White for his tireless contribution to the Hoax-Slayer Facebook Page over many years. David's support has been invaluable, and I can not thank him enough.
Closing DateHoax-Slayer will still be around for a few weeks while I wind things down. The site will go offline on May 31, 2021. While I will not be publishing any new posts, you can still access existing material on the site until the date of closure.
Thank you, one and all!