Facebook message from “Unblock Goverment” claims that someone has reported the user’s account and he or she must click a link to confirm account details within 24 hours or the account will be deleted.
The message is not from Facebook and has no connection to any government (or goverment). It is a phishing scam designed to trick users into divulging their Facebook account login details and other personal information to cybercriminals.
From: Unblock Goverment
YOUR FACEBOOK ACCOUNT WILL BE DISABLED
someone has reported your account. Perhaps, you have uploaded an image that can be insulting or harmful to others and chances are you writing content rough
to stop the warning, you must confirm your account facebook
Click the link below to confirm your account…….
If within 24 hours, you do not confirm your facebook account
we assume that the report is true and we will block your facebook account permanently.
According to this message, which is sent via Facebook and claims to be from an entity called “Unblock Goverment”, the user’s account has been reported. The message suggests that the user may have been “writing rough content” or may have uploaded an image that was “insulting or harmful to others”.
The user is warned that he or she must click a link to confirm his or her account within 24 hours or the account will be permanently deleted.
However, the message is not from Facebook or “Unblock Goverment”. It is a phishing scam that tries to trick unwary Facebook users into giving their account details and other personal and financial data to online criminals.
Those who click the link as instructed will be taken to a fake Facebook page and asked to log in with their email address and password. Depending on the particular incarnation of the scam, they may then be asked to provide further sensitive information such as their email account password, credit card details and contact and ID data.
All of the information submitted on the fake form will be collected by the criminals and used to hijack Facebook accounts and commit credit fraud and identity theft. Typically, the criminals will access the compromised Facebook account, lock out the rightful owner, change the account name to “Unblock Goverment” and use the account to launch a new round of phishing scam messages.
Be wary of any unsolicited message that claims that your account will be disabled or deleted if you do not click a link to verify account details. This is a very common scammer tactic. It is always safest to access all of your online accounts by entering the account address into your browser’s address bar rather than by clicking a link in an email.