Post appearing on Facebook claims that you can click a link to see who viewed your profile in 2017.
The claim in the message is untrue. Clicking the link will certainly not allow you to see who viewed your profile in 2017 or any other year.
Instead, if you click the link, you will be instructed to install a Facebook application, ostensibly so that you can see a list of your profile visitors as promised. But, in fact, the rogue application is designed to trick you into visiting spam survey websites, signing up for expensive SMS services, and divulging your personal information.
This is just the latest version in a long line of similar scam messages. All Facebook apps that claim that they will allow you to see who has viewed your profile are scams. None work as claimed.
The Facebook Help Center includes the following question and answer:
Can I know who’s looking at my Timeline or how often it’s being viewed?
No. Facebook doesn’t let you track who views your profile or your posts (ex: your photos). Third-party apps are also unable to do this.
If you come across an app that says it can show you who’s viewing your profile or posts, please report the app.
If you see a message promoting such an app posted on Facebook, do not click on the link provided. Do not give the application permission to access your account. And, if possible, inform the holder of the account where the message was posted that the application is bogus and should be removed.
Last updated: February 6, 2017
First published: February 6, 2017
By Brett M. Christensen