Facebook users have reported receiving messages that state “In a few days we’ll be removing an old Facebook setting you’ve used in the past”.
The messages are genuine, and they are really are from Facebook. The messages provide detailed information about the impending change.
Given that scammers often send fake messages pretending to be from Facebook, some users have been concerned that the notification messages are fraudulent.
But, Facebook is indeed making the change outlined in the notification. Users may receive a pop-up notice about the change as well as the email. Only users who have previously had the setting enabled will receive the notifications. Facebook justifies the change by claiming that the setting was not often used and that users can better control their privacy via other settings and features.
Nevertheless, the move has caused some controversy and concern among privacy advocates.
Any concerns aside, you can at least rest assured that the notifications about the issue are genuine.
In a few days we’ll be removing an old Facebook setting you’ve used in the past. You’ll see an announcement on Facebook and have several chances to learn about this before then. We just wanted to tell you about this in advance so you have time to review what’s changing and understand your privacy options.