Email Phishing Scam
Home Facebook Related PHISHING – ‘Security Alert Facebook Disabled’ Email

PHISHING – ‘Security Alert Facebook Disabled’ Email

by Brett M. Christensen

Outline

Message purporting to be from the Facebook Security team claims that, due to suspicious account activity that violates the Terms of Service, your Facebook account will be automatically disabled if you do not click a link and confirm account details within 12 hours. 

Brief Analysis

The message is not from Facebook and the claim that your Facebook account will be disabled if you do not confirm account details is a lie. The message is a phishing scam designed to trick users into submitting their account login details and other personal information to criminals.

Example

(•SECURITY ALERT•) Your Facebook Account Disabled !! Our security sуstem detects suspicious activity on your аccount that violates the Тerms of Serviсe (TOS),

Please сonfirm your Fаcebook account immediately if you feel there has been a mistake. If you do not сonfirm, our system will automatically disable your Faсebook acсount.
Please click the link below and confirm your account:

[Link Removed]

Note: Please confirm your account before 12 hours, or your account will be permanently disabled.
Thenks,
The Fαcеbооk Security Team ™
Fαcеbооk © 2014 Cоpyгighт петwогk Iпc.

 

Detailed Analysis

According to this message, which purports to be from ‘Facebook Security’, your Facebook account will be permanently disabled if you do not confirm account details within 12 hours.

The message claims that Facebook’s security system detected suspicious activity on the account that violates the Terms of Service (TOS) and your account is therefore about to be disabled as a result.

But, claims the message, you can stop the account from being disabled by clicking a link and confirming your account information.

However, the message is certainly not from Facebook Security or anyone else at Facebook.  Instead, it is a phishing scam designed to trick you into giving your Facebook account information to criminals.

If you click on the link as instructed, you will be taken to a fake Facebook page and asked to log in with your Facebook email address and password. You may also be asked to supply further personal and financial information, ostensibly as a means of proving your identity and confirming your account.
But, once the fake update process is completed, all of the information you submitted will be collected by scammers and used to hijack your Facebook account and commit financial fraud in your name.

Once they have accessed your account, the scammers will likely change the name of the account to ‘Facebook Security’ or a similar variation and send out a new round of the phishing scam messages to all of your friends.

This ensures that the scam messages reach a wide and varied audience and are sure to take in at least a few recipients. And because, the scam messages come from within Facebook’s own message system – via the compromised accounts – many users may believe that they are legitimate.

Very similar Facebook Security phishing scam messages have targeted Facebook users for several years. Be very wary of any message that claims to be from Facebook Security or a similar name and instructs you to click a link to verify account details or update information.

It is always safest to login to your Facebook account by entering the address into your browser’s address bar or via a legitimate Facebook app rather than by clicking a link in a message.

Importance Notice

After considerable thought and with an ache in my heart, I have decided that the time has come to close down the Hoax-Slayer website.

These days, the site does not generate enough revenue to cover expenses, and I do not have the financial resources to sustain it going forward.

Moreover, I now work long hours in a full-time and physically taxing job, so maintaining and managing the website and publishing new material has become difficult for me.

And finally, after 18 years of writing about scams and hoaxes, I feel that it is time for me to take my fingers off the keyboard and focus on other projects and pastimes.

When I first started Hoax-Slayer, I never dreamed that I would still be working on the project all these years later or that it would become such an important part of my life. It's been a fantastic and engaging experience and one that I will always treasure.

I hope that my work over the years has helped to make the Internet a little safer and thwarted the activities of at least a few scammers and malicious pranksters.

A Big Thank You

I would also like to thank all of those wonderful people who have supported the project by sharing information from the site, contributing examples of scams and hoaxes, offering suggestions, donating funds, or helping behind the scenes.

I would especially like to thank David White for his tireless contribution to the Hoax-Slayer Facebook Page over many years. David's support has been invaluable, and I can not thank him enough.

Closing Date

Hoax-Slayer will still be around for a few weeks while I wind things down. The site will go offline on May 31, 2021. While I will not be publishing any new posts, you can still access existing material on the site until the date of closure.

Thank you, one and all!

Brett Christensen,
Hoax-Slayer