Email Phishing With Digital Background
Home ScamsPhishing Scams ‘Your Mailbox Quota is Full’ Email Phishing Scam

‘Your Mailbox Quota is Full’ Email Phishing Scam

by Brett M. Christensen

According to this email, which bills itself as a “final warning” deactivation notice, your mailbox quota is full. 

The email claims that to avoid an account shutdown, you will need to click a link and upgrade to a higher capacity mailbox.

However, the email is not a genuine notification from your service provider.  Instead, it is a phishing scam designed to steal your email account login credentials.

An example of the scam email:

Mailbox Quota Full Scam Email

If you fall for the ruse and click the link, you will be taken to a fraudulent  “Account Verification” website that asks you to enter your email address and click a “Verify” button. To urge you along, the page includes a fake countdown which supposedly displays the remaining time in hours, minutes, and seconds before your account is shutdown.

Fake Email Verification Page With Countdown

After clicking the “Verify” button, a second fake form will ask for your email account password.

Email Verification Scam Asks For Password

Finally, the following “Verification Successful” message will be displayed in your browser.

Fake update confirmation form

The crooks can now use the information you supplied to hijack your email account. Once they have gained access to your account, they can use it to send out spam, scam, and malware emails in your name. 

Several providers now use single login systems that link services such as email, online storage, and app stores. So, in such cases, the scammers may be able to steal your personal files from online storage and make purchases via your app store as well as take control of your email account.

Email account phishing scams similar to this one are very common.  Be wary of any message that claims that you must click a link to upgrade or fix a supposed problem with your email account. It is safest to login to your email service provider by entering the address into your browser’s address bar or via a trusted app.