Home Facebook Related Friend Request Facebook Ban Warning – ‘Facebook Jail’

Friend Request Facebook Ban Warning – ‘Facebook Jail’

by Brett M. Christensen

Outline

Circulating Facebook post warns that users are getting suspended or banned from Facebook because people they have sent friend requests to have clicked “No” in response to the question “Do you know this person?”

Brief Analysis

It is true that Facebook users can be temporarily blocked from sending further friend requests if requests they have sent have been marked as unwelcome or gone unanswered. However, this warning message is nevertheless misleading and inaccurate. Blocks are generally temporary and only stop people from sending friend requests and messages until the block is lifted.

Example

Facebook Jail Post 1

Face Book Jail! Everyone needs to know how to avoid sending someone to Face Book Jail/Detention regarding FRIEND REQUESTS!

 

VERY IMPORTANT: PLEASE READ: Nice people are getting banned from facebook and it could happen to you, too – the reason is because when you get a friend request, if you click the “not now” button, you will automatically recieve a request from Facebook saying, “Do you know this person?” if you click no, that person will automatically be suspended from group chats, blocked from sending friend requests, and other nasty things for 7-30 days, and if it happens enough – permanently. So please.. if you get an unwanted friend request, just ignore it. If you accidentally click the “not now” button, then ignore the request from facebook asking if you know them – do not respond to it. Please pass this around so we can protect our friends (and ourselves!).

Facebook Jail Post 2

 

Detailed Analysis

According to this message, which is circulating rapidly around Facebook, “nice” people are getting banned from Facebook because of the way other users are responding to their friend requests. The message claims that if a user clicks the “Not Now” button in response to a friend request and then clicks “No” in answer to the question “Do you know this person?”, the sender of the request will automatically be blocked from sending further friend requests and have other account restrictions imposed.

It is certainly true that users who send friend requests to people they do not know can be temporarily blocked from sending further such requests. In its Help Center FAQ, Facebook notes:

Why am I blocked from sending friend requests on Facebook?

If you’re currently not able to send friend requests, this is usually because:

  • You recently sent a lot of friend requests.
  • Your past friend requests have gone unanswered.
  • Your past friend requests were marked as unwelcome.

Though we can’t lift the block early, it’s temporary and will end automatically within a few days.

However, the suggestion in the warning that the offending user will also be suspended from using other account functionality is unfounded.  As noted above, the block is only for friend requests and will be removed automatically with a few days.

Facebook may disable a user’s account for a variety of reasons, including “Continuing behavior that’s not allowed on Facebook by violating our Community Standards”. Perhaps, a user who has been blocked multiple times for sending unwelcome and unwanted friend requests or messages might eventually have his or her account disabled. However, there is no evidence to suggest that people are being regularly and commonly banned from Facebook just for sending unwanted friend requests.
Moreover, the advice in the message to simply ignore all unwanted friend requests in order to “protect” other users is hardly sensible. Receiving large numbers of unwanted friend requests can be annoying and intrusive. And, given that sending requests to people that you do not know personally is against Facebook’s stated guidelines, it does not seem unreasonable that repeat offenders may be temporarily blocked from such activity.

The best way to avoid the temporary block described above is to refrain from sending friend requests to people you do not know. If you have already received such a block, Facebook has published guidelines for avoiding further blocks in the future.

Importance Notice

After considerable thought and with an ache in my heart, I have decided that the time has come to close down the Hoax-Slayer website.

These days, the site does not generate enough revenue to cover expenses, and I do not have the financial resources to sustain it going forward.

Moreover, I now work long hours in a full-time and physically taxing job, so maintaining and managing the website and publishing new material has become difficult for me.

And finally, after 18 years of writing about scams and hoaxes, I feel that it is time for me to take my fingers off the keyboard and focus on other projects and pastimes.

When I first started Hoax-Slayer, I never dreamed that I would still be working on the project all these years later or that it would become such an important part of my life. It's been a fantastic and engaging experience and one that I will always treasure.

I hope that my work over the years has helped to make the Internet a little safer and thwarted the activities of at least a few scammers and malicious pranksters.

A Big Thank You

I would also like to thank all of those wonderful people who have supported the project by sharing information from the site, contributing examples of scams and hoaxes, offering suggestions, donating funds, or helping behind the scenes.

I would especially like to thank David White for his tireless contribution to the Hoax-Slayer Facebook Page over many years. David's support has been invaluable, and I can not thank him enough.

Closing Date

Hoax-Slayer will still be around for a few weeks while I wind things down. The site will go offline on May 31, 2021. While I will not be publishing any new posts, you can still access existing material on the site until the date of closure.

Thank you, one and all!

Brett Christensen,
Hoax-Slayer