Message purporting to be from ‘Facebook Safety’ claims that your account has been breaking Facebook rules and it will be permanently disabled if you do not click a link to perform an account recovery.
The message is not from Facebook. It is a phishing scam designed to steal your Facebook login details, your credit card details, and your PayPal account login information. If one of these messages comes your way, do not click any links that it contains.
Pursuant Facebook, Your account has been breaking the rules on Facebook.
we suggest you to recover your account immediately.
If you ignore this message, your account will be permanently disabled. Thank You
recover an account here:
If you ignore this message, we can not recover your account and your account will be permanently disabled.
Sorry to interrupt your convenience.
Facebook Safety 2015
According to this message, which purports to be from ‘Facebook Safety’, your account is set to be disabled because it has been breaking Facebook rules.
But, claims the message, you can avoid having your account disabled by clicking a link and going through an account recovery process.
The message warns that, if you ignore the notification, you will no longer be able to recover your account and it will be disabled permanently. However, the message is certainly not from Facebook and the claim that your account will be disabled is a lie.
If you click on the link in the scam message, you will be taken to a fraudulent website that asks you to login with your Facebook email address and password (see screenshot below).
After ‘logging’ in on the fake site, you will be asked to provide your credit card details.
Next, you will be taken to yet another fake form that asks you to enter your PayPal account login credentials.
Finally, you will be automatically redirected to your real Facebook account profile.
Armed with the information stolen via the fake website, the criminals can hijack your Facebook account, and commit fraudulent transactions using your credit card and PayPal account.
Once they have gained access to your Facebook account, the criminals can send more of the same scam messages to all of your Facebook friends. They will likely change the name of the account to ‘Facebook Recovery’ or a similar name designed to imply that messages from the account are genuine Facebook notifications.
And, because the messages come via Facebook’s own messaging system, many users may think they are genuine.
This is a very common scammer ruse. Be wary of any Facebook message or email that claims that your account will be disabled if you do not click a link to login.