Message purporting to be from ‘Facebook Safety’ claims that your account has been breaking Facebook rules and it will be permanently disabled if you do not click a link to perform an account recovery.
The message is not from Facebook. It is a phishing scam designed to steal your Facebook login details, your credit card details, and your PayPal account login information. If one of these messages comes your way, do not click any links that it contains.
Pursuant Facebook, Your account has been breaking the rules on Facebook.
we suggest you to recover your account immediately.
If you ignore this message, your account will be permanently disabled. Thank You
recover an account here:
If you ignore this message, we can not recover your account and your account will be permanently disabled.
Sorry to interrupt your convenience.
Facebook Safety 2015
According to this message, which purports to be from ‘Facebook Safety’, your account is set to be disabled because it has been breaking Facebook rules.
But, claims the message, you can avoid having your account disabled by clicking a link and going through an account recovery process.
The message warns that, if you ignore the notification, you will no longer be able to recover your account and it will be disabled permanently. However, the message is certainly not from Facebook and the claim that your account will be disabled is a lie.
If you click on the link in the scam message, you will be taken to a fraudulent website that asks you to login with your Facebook email address and password (see screenshot below).
After ‘logging’ in on the fake site, you will be asked to provide your credit card details.
Next, you will be taken to yet another fake form that asks you to enter your PayPal account login credentials.
Finally, you will be automatically redirected to your real Facebook account profile.
Armed with the information stolen via the fake website, the criminals can hijack your Facebook account, and commit fraudulent transactions using your credit card and PayPal account.
Once they have gained access to your Facebook account, the criminals can send more of the same scam messages to all of your Facebook friends. They will likely change the name of the account to ‘Facebook Recovery’ or a similar name designed to imply that messages from the account are genuine Facebook notifications.
And, because the messages come via Facebook’s own messaging system, many users may think they are genuine.
This is a very common scammer ruse. Be wary of any Facebook message or email that claims that your account will be disabled if you do not click a link to login.
Importance NoticeAfter considerable thought and with an ache in my heart, I have decided that the time has come to close down the Hoax-Slayer website.
These days, the site does not generate enough revenue to cover expenses, and I do not have the financial resources to sustain it going forward.
Moreover, I now work long hours in a full-time and physically taxing job, so maintaining and managing the website and publishing new material has become difficult for me.
And finally, after 18 years of writing about scams and hoaxes, I feel that it is time for me to take my fingers off the keyboard and focus on other projects and pastimes.
When I first started Hoax-Slayer, I never dreamed that I would still be working on the project all these years later or that it would become such an important part of my life. It's been a fantastic and engaging experience and one that I will always treasure.
I hope that my work over the years has helped to make the Internet a little safer and thwarted the activities of at least a few scammers and malicious pranksters.
A Big Thank YouI would also like to thank all of those wonderful people who have supported the project by sharing information from the site, contributing examples of scams and hoaxes, offering suggestions, donating funds, or helping behind the scenes.
I would especially like to thank David White for his tireless contribution to the Hoax-Slayer Facebook Page over many years. David's support has been invaluable, and I can not thank him enough.
Closing DateHoax-Slayer will still be around for a few weeks while I wind things down. The site will go offline on May 31, 2021. While I will not be publishing any new posts, you can still access existing material on the site until the date of closure.
Thank you, one and all!