Various messages posted on Facebook claim that, by following a link and installing a Facebook application, you can see who has been viewing your Facebook Profile or find out who has been stalking you.
The claims in these messages are false. All Facebook apps that claim that they will enable you to see who has viewed your profile are scams. None work as claimed. These rogue applications are designed to fool Facebook users into visiting spam survey websites, signing up for expensive SMS services, and parting with their personal information.
WOW Now You Can easily check who is viewing your profile ,My today’s profile views are 29 , Even ex is still viewing my profile for 4 times a day ROFL. Click the link to check who views your profile at
WOW! BIG Thanks Goes Out To The Facebook Team For FINALLY Giving Us Something To Check Our Profile Views With! Launched TODAY, This is What We All Been Waiting For! Check it out:
Cool ,man I cannot believe that you can see who is viewing your profile. ! I just saw my top 10 profile stalkers and I am SHOCKED that my Ex is still viewing my profile :O ! You can also see WHO VIEWED YOUR PROFILE here [Link Removed]! Its Super Cool
Wow Now you can see Who is Stalking on your Profile [Link Removed]
Amazing! 8909 People viewed my Profile in 2010! And I just found out that My Ex was stalking over my Profile and was among top 10 viewers! I hate it seriously and I am Shocked! You can Check Who Viewed your Profile Here NOW – [Link Removed]
Most people on Facebook will have seen posts that promote applications that supposedly allow Facebook users to see who has been viewing their profile. These posts often claim that you can identify stalkers that may have been visiting your profile without your knowledge. The posts link to a Facebook application that will supposedly allow the user to view a list of those who have been viewing his or her profile.
However, the claims in these posts are lies designed to trick Facebook users into installing rogue Facebook applications. In a typical case, here is what happens if a user goes ahead and gives permission for one of these rogue apps to access his or her Facebook account:
1: As soon as permission is granted, the rogue application will automatically post a copy of the message promoting the rogue app to the user’s Facebook profile.
2: The user will then be presented with a list like the one in the screenshot below that supposedly reveals those who have recently viewed his or her profile:
As the screenshot reveals, pictures and names on the list are obscured and “locked”.
3: The user is then presented with a pop-up window that claims that he or she must complete a survey to verify the account before being allowed to continue:
However, even after the user completes a survey, he or she will be informed that the “verification” failed and that another survey must be completed. In fact, the supposed list of stalkers is entirely bogus.
Often, no matter how many surveys the user completes, the list of stalkers will never be unlocked as promised. In other cases, the app may finally reveal a completely random list of the user’s normal Facebook friends with the false claim that the list represents “profile stalkers”.
The “survey” links in fact lead to suspect third party websites that attempt to trick users into submitting their personal information.
Sometimes, users are told that they must provide a mobile phone number in order to get the results of the “survey” or go in the draw for various prizes. However, fine print on the page informs users that, by entering their phone number, they are actually signing up for a very expensive, ongoing SMS “service” that will be billed at several dollars for every text message received.
In other cases, the “survey” sites may ask users to supply their name and contact details for a chance to win prizes or participate in various “offers”. But, the fine print will state that, by participating, users are giving permission for their information to be shared with third-party marketers and “site sponsors”. Thus, soon after participating, users will begin receiving unwanted and annoying phone calls, emails, text messages, and letters promoting a variety of products and services.
Meanwhile, the scammers who created the fake stalker apps and messages will earn commissions each time a user provides information on one of the survey sites.
There have been many of these bogus “stalker” apps promoted on Facebook in recent years and new versions keep emerging. While details of the promotions may vary, none are legitimate. Not one of these bogus applications will actually provide users with meaningful or valid information about who has been viewing their profile. Such claims are outright lies.
The Facebook Help Center includes the following question and answer:
Can I know who’s looking at my Timeline or how often it’s being viewed?
No. Facebook doesn’t let you track who views your profile or your posts (ex: your photos). Third-party apps are also unable to do this.
If you come across an app that says it can show you who’s viewing your profile or posts, please report the app.
If you see a message promoting such an app posted on Facebook, do not click on the link provided. Do not give the application permission to access your account. And, if possible, inform the holder of the account where the message was posted that the application is bogus and should be removed.