“I Just Saw My Ex is Still Stalking My Profile” Facebook Scam Post

Post spreading on Facebook claims that you can click a link to see who is stalking your profile right now. It claims that the sender just saw that an ex is still stalking his or her profile.

Brief Analysis:
The post is a scam and the claim that you can click to see who stalking your profile is untrue. Clicking the post first takes you to a rogue Facebook app install page. If you install the app, it post versions of the same scam to all of your friends on your behalf.  You will then be told that you must complete one or more surveys before you can see your “profile stalker list”. The survey links open dodgy websites that try to trick you into divulging your personal information. This is just one in a long list of similar scam campaigns. Do not trust any message that claims that you can click a link or install an app to see who has been viewing your profile.

UNBELIEVEABLE, OMG I Just saw my ex is Still stalking my profile.
See who is Stalking your profile
right now ==> [Link removed]

Ex Still Stalking My Profile Facebook Scam

Detailed Analysis:
According to a message that has recently spread far and wide across Facebook, you can click a link to see who has been stalking your profile. The post claims that the sender, who will be one of your Facebook friends, used the link and discovered that an ex was still stalking his or her Facebook profile.

However, the message is  a scam and the claim that you can click to see who has looked at your profile is not true. The message was not deliberately posted by your friend. Instead it was sent on your friend’s behalf via a fraudulent app that your friend was tricked into installing.

If you click the link, you will first be taken to an app page that asks you to give permission for the supposed profile viewing app to access and post on your profile. If you proceed, the rogue app will begin posting more of the same scam posts via your account. Since the posts appear to have been deliberately sent by you, at least a few of your friends may click on the scam link.

Meanwhile, after installing the app, you will be redirected to a webpage that appears to contain a list of people that have recently visited your profile. However, the names and details of these alleged stalkers will be blurred so that you cannot read them. A popup window will explain that, to unlock your stalker list, you must first click one of several links and complete a survey “to prove that you are human”.

The links lead to various third party websites that will offer the chance to win prizes or download free gifts in exchange for filling in surveys and supplying your name, phone numbers, email address, and home address. But, fine print on the pages will explain that, by participating, you are giving permission for your personal information to be shared with site sponsors and online marketing companies.

Thus, soon after participating, you will begin receiving a great many unwanted and annoying phone calls, text messages, emails, and surface letters that try to sell you a variety of products and services you most likely neither want nor need.

In some versions, you may have inadvertently signed up to ongoing and very expensive SMS subscriptions that will charge you several dollars every time they send you a text message.

And, alas, even after completing one or more surveys and thus proving your humanity, you will still not get to to see the unblurred list of your stalkers. In fact, there is no list. The promised list is just the bait used to trick you into installing the app and filling in surveys.

Meanwhile, the scammers who created the bogus “see who is stalking your profile” message will earn commissions each time somebody provides personal information on one of the survey sites.

In fact, the scam campaign discussed here is just one of many similar campaigns that have targeted Facebook users for a number of years. Any message that claims that you can click a link or install an app to see your profile stalkers, or see who has visited your profile is sure to be a scam.

The Facebook Help Center includes the following question and answer:

Can I know who’s looking at my Timeline or how often it’s being viewed?

No. Facebook doesn’t let you track who views your profile or your posts (ex: your photos). Third-party apps are also unable to do this.
If you come across an app that says it can show you who’s viewing your profile or posts, please report the app.

As noted, new versions of this scam appear on Facebook almost continually. If such a post comes your way, do not click on it. And let the person who owns the profile that the post came from know that he or she has most likely installed a rogue app that needs to be removed.

Last updated: October 7, 2016
First published: October 7, 2016
By Brett M. Christensen
About Hoax-Slayer

Can I know who’s looking at my Timeline or how often it’s being viewed?
Facebook Scam – ‘I Can’t Believe The People I Caught Looking At My Profile’
‘Know Who Viewed Your Profile’ Facebook Scam