Beware of Scam “YouTube Video” Facebook Messages

Outline:
A Facebook message from a friend appears to show that a video of you has racked up a very large number of views on YouTube.




Analysis:
The message is a scam. There is no video. If you click the link, you will be taken to a fake website designed to look like a Facebook login page.

The bogus web page claims that you must re-login to Facebook before you can view the supposed video.  If you do enter your Facebook login details on the fake web page, scammers can collect the login details and hijack your Facebook account. The scammers can then use the hijacked account to launch spam, scam, and malware campaigns.  Your friends will then begin receiving versions of the bogus “YouTube” videos that were automatically sent out from your account.

Criminals may also use this or similar ruses to trick people into downloading malware or installing rogue apps and malicious browser plugins.

This “YouTube” version is just one in an ongoing series of similar scam messages.

If you find that your account has been compromised via one of these scams, you will need to try to secure your account as quickly as you can. And, if possible, let your Facebook friends know that your account has been compromised and to watch out for scam posts being sent in your name.



Example:
Facebook YouTube Video Scam Messages



Last updated: January 14, 2017D
First published: January 14, 2017
By Brett M. Christensen
About Hoax-Slayer

References
Beware Of “You Are In This Video” Facebook Scam Messages
PHISHING SCAM: ‘Wat are u Doing in This Video’ Facebook Message
Hacked Accounts Facebook